New ministry in Arunachal with Kalikho Pul as the CM

At a brief function organised at the Raj Bhavan at around 9.30 p.m., Arunachal Pradesh Governor Jyoti Prasad Rajkhowa swore Kalikho Pul the oath of office and secrecy

Kalikho Pul was sworn in as CM of Arunachal Pradesh after revocation of the President’s Rule.

[dropcap color=”#008040″ boxed=”yes” boxed_radius=”8px” class=”” id=””]K[/dropcap]alikho Pul a dissident Congress lawmaker was on Friday sworn in as the new chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh. The state had been under Presidents’ Rule since January 25 following political instability.

At a brief function organised at the Raj Bhavan in the hilly state around 9.30 p.m., Arunachal Pradesh Governor Jyoti Prasad Rajkhowa swore him the oath of office and secrecy

The development came after President Pranab Mukherjee earlier in the day approved the recommendation of the union cabinet for revocation of the President’s Rule.

BJP leader Tapir Gaon said that only Pul, took oath of office and secrecy. He was elected as leader of the house by 31 legislators,

The new chief minister will induct his ministers at a later date.

The BJP said it will lend support to the new government from outside only and will not be its part.

[dropcap color=”#008040″ boxed=”yes” boxed_radius=”8px” class=”” id=””]T[/dropcap]he Supreme court on Thursday paved the way for the formation of the new government by disposing of Congress leader Nabam Tuki’s plea for an interim direction that his party be allowed to go for a floor test in the house and vacated its earlier order for maintenance of status quo.

On Monday, Pul and another 31 MLAs, including 18 Congress legislators, 11 of BJP and two Independents, met the governor and submitted a memorandum to stake claim to form the government.

The legislators reaffirmed their support to Pul to head the council of ministers and that he may be sworn in at the end of the President’s Rule Arunachal Pradesh.

Political situation in the north-eastern state turned volatile after the governor advanced an assembly session from January 2016 to December 2015.

[dropcap color=”#008040″ boxed=”yes” boxed_radius=”8px” class=”” id=””]W[/dropcap]hile the then chief minister Nabam Tuki and his supporters boycotted the session, the dissident Congress and BJP legislators, and two Independents, took part in the session held first at a community hall and then at a hotel.

The legislators impeached Speaker Nabam Rebia by a voice vote and moved a no- confidence motion against the chief minister, forcing both to move the Guwahati High Court and subsequently the Supreme Court.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here