Padma Vibhushan awards to Mulayam, S M Krishna. Padma Bhushan to Kumar Birla, Sudha Murty, Vani Jairam

A total of 106 people were selected for Padma awards on the eve of the 74th Republic Day

A total of 106 people were selected for Padma awards on the eve of the 74th Republic Day
A total of 106 people were selected for Padma awards on the eve of the 74th Republic Day

Padma awards 2023

Centre on Wednesday bestowed Padma Vibhushan to six persons including former External Affairs Minister S M Krishna, Samajwadi party founder late Mulayam Singh Yadav, and Tabala maestro Zakir Hussain. Others who got the highest civilian award posthumously are architect Balkishna Doshi from Gujarat and Dr. Dilip Mahalanabis who worked in relief camps during the Bangladesh war. US-based scientist and engineer Srinivas Varadhan was also awarded Padma Vibhushan.

Padma Bhushan was given to nine persons including industrialist Kumar Mangalam Birla, Infosys founder Narayan Murthy’s wife Sudha Murty, Kannada writer S L Bhyrappa and singer Vani Jayaram. Telangana’s spiritual gurus Swami Chinna Jeeyar Kamlesh D Patel and writer and educationist Kapil Kapoor from Delhi, artist Suman Kalyapur from Maharashtra were also awarded, Padma Bhushan.

As many as 91 persons were given Padma Shri this time including stock market guru late Rakesh Jhunjhunwala, musician Keeravaani, and actress Raveena Tandon. Delhi-based physicians Dr. Ishawar Chander Verma, Gurcharan Singh (sports) Dr. Nalini Parthasarathi (medicine) are also figured in the Padma Shri awardees list.

Among the Padma awarded 19 are women and two are from non-resident Indians and seven were awarded posthumously. Haryana-based spiritual leader Sukama Acharya, Jodhaiyabai Baiga, Premijit Baria, Usha Barle, Hemant Chauhan, Bhanubhai Chitara, Hemoprova Chitia Subhadra Devi, Hemchandra Goswami, Pritikana Goswami Ahmed Hussai, Mohammed Hussai, Dilshad Hussain (all in art category) were awarded, Padma Shri.

The government has awarded Padma Shri to many unsung heroes working in social service. They are Ratan Chandra Kar, a doctor working with Jarwa tribals of Andamans Island, Hirabai Lobi working for the welfare of Siddi Tribals, Dr. Munishwar Chander Dawar working Jabalpur for poor patients Ramkuiwangle Newme engaged in primary education from Nagaland, noted Gandhian Appukuttan Poduval from Kerala, S Chandrasekhar working for upliftment and child education of poor in Andhra Pradesh, snake experts from Tamil Nadu Vadivel Gopal and Masi Sadaiyan, Nekram Sharma from the organic farming were given Padma Shri.

Complete list of Padma Awardees 2023

PGurus is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel and stay updated with all the latest news and views

For all the latest updates, download PGurus App.

We are a team of focused individuals with expertise in at least one of the following fields viz. Journalism, Technology, Economics, Politics, Sports & Business. We are factual, accurate and unbiased.
Team PGurus


  1. Respectable list…….BJP should award Pappu for voting & rewarding BJP to power … Pappu deserves it……. India is united & vocal on this point


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here